Day 2 of Good, better, best challenge

Again, I started out yesterday feeling a little bummed that I couldn’t do my normal routine, of feeding the boys and then eating my breakfast while cruising through blogs, or catching up on facebook or emails.  I had been up a good part of the night with Isaac, so I was exhausted and didn’t feel like getting our day going at 6 am.  So instead I cuddled with him on the couch while Boston played and read my scriptures.   I chose to read from my “Book of Mormon made easier” series for more of a study guide.  When I was getting ready for the day I was really missing my normal music, but I went to the Mormon channel on youtube and went through the “Mormon messages” playlist. This was actually one of my favorite parts of the day.  I love watching those videos and they always have sweet uplifting music.  

When I was doing dishes later that night I played more mormon messages and it added a nice atmosphere to the home. All in all the day was really nice.  I didn’t have too hard a time being patient with the kids (even though I was exhausted from lack of sleep) and I ended the day feeling so grateful and fulfilled.  It’s interesting how each day I’ve been slightly dreading the task ahead of me, but then feeling quite happy and satisfied with it by the end of the day.  I feel a little embarassed that personal scripture/spiritual study feels like such a task to me, but I can really see how my priorities were shifted and I think I’m already seeing the benefits of getting them back in order. When 6 o clock rolled around and I was making dinner I had plenty of time to catch up on downton abbey, and after the boys were in bed (Dane worked late) I caught up on some of the bachelor and “The Happiness Project” (a book I’m reading with my sisters).  

I still have time for the “entertaining” things I used to fill my days with, only now I also have time for spiritual growth.  

 

So far so good.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 of Good, better, best challenge

    1. I used to sleep Post author

      We JUST started. I haven’t talked to any of the girls about it yet, but Kaz has already been reading it. I love what I’ve read so far. I’ve heard it’s an AWESOME book. Did you love it?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

