Preschool Supplies

suppliesI’ve had a few friends ask me about what I’m doing with Boston for our “At Home Preschool” or as Boss and I call it, “Mommy school” so I decided to share my preschool prep, ideas and what we’re doing for anyone that would like some ideas.  It’s my only way to repay all the Mom’s I know that I’ve gotten most of my ideas from.  🙂  I have 2 sisters that were teachers and 2 that homeschool their children, so they’ve all been a great resource for me.  Plus my Mom did preschool with me at home, so she’s a great resource as well.  I called my sister that’s ran her own preschool and has done home preschool with all of her kids for advice.  She gave me a ton of ideas and resources to turn to. With her advice I’ve come up with a curriculum that I can’t wait to start with Boston.

Also I’ll add that from what I’ve studied, learned and watched I really believe that you don’t have to have an extensive preschool curriculum for your child in order to prepare them for kindergarten.   If you do one thing for your child I say read to them 30 minutes a day and limit their screen time so they can have more time to use their imaginations.  If you need some inspiration, The Read Aloud Handbook  is a fantastic resource and will help you to see the benefits of reading to your child.  If you do one thing, do this!   I’m doing a fairly formal preschool with Boston because I’m passionate about it and excited.  It’ s fun for me and him, but if this weren’t the case, I would feel just as successful spending quality time reading with him.  🙂

I’ll break this up into a few different posts since it’ll be extensive.  🙂 Just look under my preschool category for all the posts.

Here is the list of supplies i bought with their prices and the store I bought them from,

Amazon:
What Your Preschooler Needs to know: $15 total with Amazon Prime.  I own the Kindergartner version of this book and it is a great resource!  A few of my sisters have used this book with their preschoolers and consider it essential.
Stack the States Tablet Game: $.49 cents.  My sister’s preschooler has loved this game and it has helped her to memorize every state and I believe she knows their capitals too.
Weather Bear:  $12.  This is just a felt bear with different clothing items that he can be changed into depending on the weather that day.

Zoo-phonicsathome.com:  
Zoo Phonics basics kit:  $43.77 after shipping.  This is a program that’s excellent for teaching kids their letters and sounds in a fun and easy to memorize way.  This kit includes a letters poster, flash cards, free online resources, and a song Cd.

Teachers World:
Addition Flash Cards numbers 1-12:  $2.99
Melissa and Doug USA floor puzzle:  $13.  This puzzle is huge and so fun.  Boston and I worked on it for 45 minutes today and he loved every minute.  Each state has a picture of something that represents that state so this makes it easier for Boston to remember that Nevada is the state that has the Snake on it and Washington state has a picture of apples.  We also spent time driving his cars over the map to different states and counting how many states we had to drive through.
Multi-colored craft (popsicle) sticks: $2.99 ( I think) for 3 stacks.  We use these in conjunction with the addition flash cards.  2 pink sticks plus 3 blue = 5 all together.  This is teaching Boston to read math problems in a way he can comprehend.  You can also have red sticks always be the top number and green sticks be the bottom.  Whatever helps to get your kid to visualize the problem.  We practiced these today and Boss loved it and totally comprehended it.
American Flag Poster: $2.99.  The only one I could find also has pictures of all the state flags.  We’ll use this poster to pledge allegiance to every morning.

Target dollar section:
Mini dry erase board:  $1.  This looks like a piece of lined paper.  Great for practicing letter and number writing.
Dry erase marker: $1 for a 2 pack.
Dry eraser: $1

Dollar Store:
Small Scissors: $1
Playschool Jumbo crayons: $1
Pencil Box: $1
Glue stick: $1 for a 3 pack
Pipe Cleaners: $1 for 45.  You can use these for a ton of stuff, but lately I’ve been giving them to Isaac to stick through a kitchen colander and he’ll spend good chunks of time making different shapes with them (an idea I got from my niece).  🙂
Pen: $1 for a 5 pack of high quality pens.
Pencil: $1 for a 5 pack.
Journal: $1.  We’ll use this for Boston to journal every preschool day.  He can color, write, or have me write for him, whatever he feels like that day.  My mom did this on Sundays with me and my siblings as a kid. 🙂
Bulletin Board Calendar Monthly Headers, Calendars, and numbers and holidays:  $3 total.  This is just a cheap way to make your own calendar each month.  It looks just the same as a $10 pre-made calendar I found at Teacher’s World, for $7 cheaper.
Shapes Poster: $1. 10 different shapes and shape activities on the back of the poster.
Color Poster:  $1.  Same idea as shapes poster.
Subtraction Flash cards: $1.

Staples:
Better Binder: $11.  This binder is for me to keep ideas and lesson plans in.
These are my favorite binders.  They’re pretty and efficient. Plus I’d like for all my binders to be the same for organization purposes.  Another bonus, the rings are on the back spine, so your papers don’t get stuck when you open and close the binder.
Dividers:  $1.99.  I like the ones that you can write and erase on the tabs.

We also will be using a Froggy backpack that Boston already owns to keep his flash cards, pencil box, journal and a stack of colored craft sticks in.

In total this all costs around $115.  Not too bad considering how much it would cost to send Boston to preschool.

Stay tuned for more posts!

One thought on “Preschool Supplies

  1. KathleenNelson

    So cute Jilly! I loved seeing your preschool closet. I love how you put the posters on the back of the door and that you can Close it all off!!! That’s awesome. 🙂 You guys will have a great year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

